Daughter of the Pirate King

Author  Tricia Levenseller
Date Released  28 February 2017
Rating ★★★★☆

Okay, so I took a little bit of a longer break than I expected. Between volunteering at a zoo and school, and rehearsal for upcoming orchestra concerts and skating performances, and prepping for AP exams and finals in May, it’s been a mess. I have been reading, just haven’t had the time to write posts and I don’t have a queue lined up yet. Sorry 🙁

This is actually a fairly new book, and it’s my first time reading it (mixing it up here).

Quick intro: Alosa is the daughter of the Pirate King, and she’s sent on a mission by her father to retrieve a hidden treasure map. This involves being kidnapped, on purpose, by a boat full of male pirates who are varying degrees of pleasant and rude. The first mate, Riden, is surprisingly nice (especially to look at) and smart. Alosa is determined to complete her mission for her father. She’s good with a sword and a great fighter, the only pirate her father’s even trained personally. She also has some special hidden skills that we find out about later in the book. There’s fighting and sparring and kidnapping and lots and lots of arrogance, which comes with the pirate territory. It’s like Pirates of the Caribbean, but with a girl pirate and in book form. So it’s awesome.

I loved Daughter of the Pirate King! Right after the dedication, there’s a quote, “Let us not, dear friends, forget our dear friends the cuttlefish,” said by Captain Jack Sparrow in Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End. As an avid POtC fan, I believe this was absolutely the best way to start out a pirate book. And then there’s the narrator and main character, Alosa, who thinks all men are a nuisance and stinky and rude (the pirates mostly are), until she meets Riden, the first mate of the ship she allows herself to be kidnapped by, who she still thinks is a nuisance and rude and all that, at least at first. Alosa is hilariously candid…with the reader. She lies to EVERYONE else, but somehow, is still honest about her thoughts… it’s complicated, which is what makes the interactions between the characters so entertaining. Alosa tells the pirates what she thinks of them, but keeps her secrets and uses her many talents to sneak around and fool everyone.

And Riden is hilarious because he’s not what you’d expect in a pirate. He’s the first mate, and he’s related to the captain, but Riden hates being a pirate and is nice and not rude, but a good fighter. He’s also OCD, which is very entertaining because Alosa excels at being a nuisance herself (kind of ironic, because she thinks men are a nuisance, just for a different reason – they get in her way), and likes to mess with things.

At the end of the book, things kind of get around to resolving themselves, and we learn the truth about some secrets, but I felt like it was a little late in the book, like there should’ve been more space before the end. The ending is a little abrupt, but luckily, there’s a sequel coming out in February of 2018!

Thanks for being patient, I’m determined to keep this going 😊

Fins ara, i gràcies per tots els seguidors,
Alena 🙂

“As a female pirate raised by other pirates, I’ve had to fend off the most despicable and persistent of men. I’m not too worried.”
“And what would you do, Alosa, if you had to fend off a man who wasn’t despicable and persistent?”
“I’ll let you know when I meet one.”

“You are here because I want information.”
“That’s nice. I want a clean cell.”

“You’re a woman. Act like it. You shouldn’t be saying such foul–”
“I’ll say whatever I please. I’m not a lady, I’m a pirate!”

I’m struck speechless by his honesty. Maybe not the honesty, but the sincerity and selflessness in what he said. I’ve never heard a pirate say such a thing. It’s wrong. Uncomfortable. Almost makes me feel guilty for how I’m playing him.

How many realizations can a person have before one actually proves to be right?

Men are more expensive to feed.

Leave a Reply

