A Court of Mist and Fury

Author Sarah J. Maas
Series A Court of Thorns and Roses
Date Released 3 May 2016
Rating ★★★★★

After writing yesterday’s review of A Court of Thorns and Roses, I realized that Wednesday and Thursday, when I reread ACOTAR, which has a red, white, and black cover, I wore a red shirt and red shoes, and yesterday, when I reread A Court of Mist and Fury, which, as you can see, has a blue, white, and black cover, I wore a black and white shirt and blue rainboots. Honestly, completely accidentally 😏

Quick intro: Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, where she has trouble adjusting, leading to some relationship issues with High Lord #1, leading to some quality time with my favorite character, Rhysand, High Lord of the Night Court, as he rescues her from a new kind of prison, using the Fae bargain Feyre made during Amarantha’s Reign of Terror. Upon spending more time at the Night Court, Feyre makes friends, learns to enjoy life again, and finds out some interesting things about her new self. CAUTION: There are total Feysand feels events in this book (of course I ship it).


Okay, I personally have had a hard time re-reading ACOTAR after reading ACOMAF (the acronyms. Can’t wait for ACOWAR 😄), because of the changes in Tamlin and Feyre’s relationship. I understand that they’re both adjusting, but this quote from later on in the book kills me:

And I realized – I realized how badly I’d been treated before, if my standards had become so low. If the freedom I’d been granted felt like a privilege and not an inherent right.

Freedom should definitely be an inherent right, not a privilege (seriously, like in reality and in books).

I love how good authors place little hints that build up to this big surprise so that when you reread it, you just appreciate the dramatic irony you have gained instead of the surprise you have lost. Sarah J. Maas is one of these good authors. For example, when re-reading this book, the offhand comment about Rhys’s mother’s ring, “So I wouldn’t waste it,” is boosted up in the “I know something you don’t” feels category. Every time I re-read this series, I notice little things that could’ve clued me in to later revelations.

The great thing about this series, and the reason I love it so much, is that the characters are always surprising the reader, and, it seems, themselves. Feyre keeps forgetting how powerful she is, Rhys keeps admitting things he never thought he would…stuff like that. In my opinion, a good book isn’t predictable. Also, in my opinion, ACOTAR was not as good as ACOMAR because Tamlin and Feyre were kinda predictable (Beauty and the Beast/Romeo and Juliet-like), but Feysand is a beautiful surprise. Mostly. Things make sense now and it was built up to. But still, I think that Feyre and Rhysand have a much better relationship. Rhys supports and encourages Feyre without condescending to her. They trust and understand each other. (Sincere apologies to the Tamlin/Feyre shippers).

To sum it up: A Court of Mist and Fury is absolutely a book to read and re-read. Even if A Court of Thorns and Roses didn’t really float your boat, continue with the series and dare to take a chance and be surprised by the next book. Speaking of which, A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOTAR #3) is released 2 May 2017, so get ready! I’m super excited because I will be getting my copy of ACOWAR signed. In person. By the Maaster herself. On May 11. So I am SUPER EXCITED for that 🙌

Again, send me feedback! I’m still learning.

Do zobaczenia,
Alena 🙂

That girl who had needed to be protected, who had craved stability and comfort…she had died Under the Mountain.

“There are different kinds of darkness,” Rhys said. I kept my eyes shut. “There is the darkness that frightens, the darkness that soothes, the darkness that is restful.” I pictured each. “There is the darkness of lovers, and the darkness of assassins. It becomes what the bearer wishes it to be, needs to be. It is not wholly bad or good.”

I became the music, and the drums, and the wild, dark thing in the High Lord’s arms.

Leave a Reply

